About Us

Juno-nominated Land’s End Ensemble of Calgary (John Lowry, violin; Beth Root Sandvoss, cello; Susanne Ruberg-Gordon, piano; Vincent Ho, Artistic Director) is dedicated to introducing audiences to new music by Canadian and International composers, and to performing landmark chamber works of the 20th and 21st centuries.

“If you want to see a contemporary music ensemble perform provocative, brilliant and relevant work, with an eye for the narrative, then look no further than this bold ensemble that does it all” – Calgary Herald

LE Ensemble is continually creating legacy projects with living composers. The most recent LE Centrediscs release, Gravity and Grace, won a Juno Award and a Western Canadian Music Award in the category of Classical Composition of the year (2014) for the work Field Notes by Allan Gordon Bell. This work was composed for LE Ensemble and James Campbell.

LE’s discography includes two winners of the Western Canadian Music Award for Outstanding Classical Recording, as well as a Juno nomination for My Life in Widening Circles, music by R. Murray Schafer. LE is proud to champion the music of Canada, and have in fact performed works by more than a hundred Canadian and Alberta composers. Committed to nurturing young emerging composers, LE sponsors a nation-wide Composers Competition annually in partnership with the University of Calgary.

Over the years, LE Ensemble has featured an extraordinary array of guest artists, including Hans Graf, James Campbell, Joel Sachs, Onalea Gilbertson, Barry Shiffman, Robert Aitken, François Houle, Laura Jayne Bowler and many others. Together they have premiered and commissioned many works, presented cabarets, theatrical shows, and special events such as the Alfred Schnittke Memorial Concert in 2000 under the baton of Maestro Hans Graf; and a startling performance of Peter Maxwell Davies’ Eight Songs for a Mad King with brilliant British baritone John Savournin in January 2014.

LE Ensemble has appeared at various Canadian festivals, including U of C Happening Festival of New Music and Media, Alberta Scene, Festival of the Sound & Ottawa Chamberfest.


Board Members

Jeffrey Neufeld – President
Christopher Sandvoss – Vice President
Rianna Clancy  – Treasurer
Christine Halasa – Secretary
Gillian Hickie – Director
John Lowry – Musicians’ Representative
Po Yeh – Ensemble Manager
Kyle Lamont – Founder