Rollin’ Down #1

Winner of the 2006 Western Canadian Music Award for Outstanding Classical Recording! “…the diversity and range of styles are huge, like the landscape. And somehow the vast prairies and the optimistic soul of Western Canada are nicely caught…It’s a labour of love for this group and it shows. I’ll give it the full 5 stars.” Rick Phillips on CBC’s “Sound Advice” In early 2005, President and master luthier Christopher Sandvoss approached the players and Board of Directors of the Land’s End Society of Calgary with an idea concerning Alberta’s Centennial. Part of the Land’s End mandate is to perform works by contemporary Alberta composers. As such, we have our finger on the pulse of new music in Alberta, making us ideal spokespersons for composers and musicians who write and perform new music of today. Chris suggested that we broaden that mandate, in celebration of the Alberta Centennial, and dedicate our 2005-2006 season to exploring music from the early days of the province. The idea gained momentum, and soon the project expanded to include works by composers from the last 107 years in Alberta and Saskatchewan, with a Centennial CD, tour, and educational package for schools and libraries in both provinces. Land’s End has commissioned two new compositions for this CD, one by Shane Fage of Calgary and the other by Neil Currie of Saskatoon. This project would not have been possible without the research and dedication of Kat Hammer, the tireless efforts of Past President Paul Fielding, the amazing energy and musicianship of John Lowry, and the vital contribution of board member Angela Kempf. We are grateful to Canadian Heritage, Alberta Lottery Fund, Canada Council, and Calgary Regional Arts Foundation for providing the funding for this venture. Sarah Sandham has coordinated the marshalling of resources for the CD and the tour. We know you will enjoy this musical portrait of the first 100 years of music composed in Alberta and Saskatchewan. We hope this music will inspire you to go to a new music concert in your community, and support the incredibly talented composers who live and work in Alberta and Saskatchewan today. Dr. Mark Hopkins Artistic Adviser/Conductor (formerly) ……………………………………………….. “…Land’s End Chamber Ensemble’s first recording is an impressive debut…” – Malcolm Tattersall (Music and Vision, 2004) Visit our Education section for materials and listening examples related to this album. ………………………………………………..

1. March from I.O.U. March & Two-Step, Vernon Barford

2. Dream Shadows from A Prairie Suite No. 1, Jack Bullough

3. Meditation, Op. 39, Clifford Higgin

4. Walk Slowly, Graham Morgan

5. Partita in the Style of J. S. Bach, Leonard Leacock

6. I. Prelude 3: Lengto – come elegia, Violet Archer

7. II. Prelude 6: Allegro appassionato, Violet Archer

8. Recollections, Robert Fleming

9. Divertimento No. 3, Moderato – Adagio maestoso, Murray Adaskin

10. String Quartet, Adagio intensito, Allegro scintillante, Thomas Schudel

11. Intimacies, Malcolm Forsyth

12. Lumen, Simulacra, Allan Gordon Bell

13. Anamnesis IV, Nebelland: Adagio, William Jordan

14. Searching for Sophia, Dance: Andante con moto, Elizabeth Raum

15. Counter-Linear Continua: The Descending Ascent, Howard Bashaw

16. Serein, Howard Bashaw

17. Duo Solista [excerpt], Hope Lee

18. Soundplay 1, David Eagle

19. Places of transcendence: prairie, by the side of the road, midnight, Shane Fage

20. Rollin’ down #1, Neil Currie

Support Us

Learn how you can support us through membership or donations.